Worth (part 2)

When I first started exploring the meaning of self-worth while I was reading Brené Brown’s The Gifts of Imperfection, I had to admit it seemed like ‘of course we don’t measure a person’s worth by a product or a thing, let alone do it to ourselves.’  Because when I wrote it down, it seemed almost ridiculous.  Consciously, yes; subconsciously, it was a whole other messed-up story in my head.  Even my ’emotionally healthy’ friends seem to define worth – I found the ‘having a job’ part especially common in all my friends or ‘I am a good parent’ as the other common one.

I am so guilty of defining worth.  Here is my definition:

And now, I am trying hard to redefine it as: I am enough, as is.  And some of the things on this list have been easy to let go and others are extremely hard and some are unobtainable.

When I wrote it out, I couldn’t believe it.  How could I achieve worthiness when I am an only child?  But it kind of makes sense, making it unobtainable.  I can’t tell myself I am worthy, right now or ever with that on the list.  And well, I don’t want to live like that, starting now.

Some of things on this list (formerly known as my worthiness list) hit me hard.  When I moved overseas with my bf I had to leave my job – it was the first time since I was legally allowed to work to NOT work.  I had to have a plan.  I went back to school which put aside the feelings of unworthiness until graduation.  When I graduated I went into a depression.  I was in another country where I couldn’t speak the language and I was unemployed.  My state of depression became clear to me after I wrote Worth (part 1).  A lot of my struggles when I became depressed were associated with my own feelings of worthiness.  I found a job 6 months after graduation and I felt better – sort of.  Go figure.  I hit that checklist point!

Another one that was difficult to remove was helping others.  Which is directly related to how I was friends with people (especially Ns).  I had to STOP providing for them.  When I did that my relationship with Ns started changing.  My worth as a friend is not defined by how much I help them.  A while ago I read something about the concept of helping others.  I can’t remember where but it was something like, helping friends/people doesn’t mean doing everything for them/providing for them.  It means helping someone when they are not able to do it themselves.  For example, I drove my N friend, Marian, to the grocery store and gym.  We lived in a small village.  You can walk from one end to the other in 15 min – no joke.  Everybody walks/bikes to grocery store and shops/gym.  But yet I still did those things.  I mean, when I look back, she had a bike!  And I realized that helping friends is something that I like doing but not attached to my worthiness or others.

When I read Brené Brown’s books, The Gifts of Imperfection and Daring Greatly, two things hit me in relation to my recovery from maternal narcissism.  I defined worthiness as a product/thing (my worthiness list above) and I held my perception of people up to it – measuring them up/judging.

When I judged myself (measured myself against my worthiness list) and others, I was behaving destructively.  When I didn’t measure up, I went into bouts of depression.  When I judged others against it I behaved destructively towards them – cruel and blaming.  And that was my greatest fear coming true – behaving narcissistically.

According to Brown, when we question our own worthiness (and everyone does, even emotionally healthy people), we encounter shame.  And shame is what leads to destructive behaviours towards ourselves and others.  Brown defines shame as:

Shame is the intensely painful feeling or experience of believing that we are flawed and therefore unworthy of love and belonging.

Through the course of reading, I told myself: Oh, I have shame – I listed 3 things that I am shameful of.  And, I thought to myself, okay, T Reddy, you get shame.  You can now focus on developing shame resilience, which is what she says is the fundamental component of living wholeheartedly, emotionally healthy.

But I was so wrong.  Way, way wrong.  Repressed shame exists.  And we often numb the feelings of repressed shame in many ways – eating, smoking, alcohol, keeping busy, watching TV, Facebooking, organising etc.  There are many ways to numb the feelings.  These activities are numbing when you look at your intentions.  I like to watch TV but am I watching it for a show I like or flipping through channels aimlessly trying to find something (and I do that a lot).  When I Facebook, am I connecting with friends or am I just scrolling and flipping through pages for hours and hours at a time.  There is a difference.

And I was like, great.  I do numb.  But what is my repressed shame?  After reading Daring Greatly I went back and re-read The Gifts of Imperfection – but this time, slowly and stopping to think about what she was saying.  The first time I read the book in one day.

She said that shame can sneak up on you and there are physical symptoms.  And it can be easy to miss.  I was a bit stumped.  And then something happened while I was on Facebook.  I was checking my news feed when it said that my bf’s sister-in-law connected with someone that is connected to my bf as family.  When I saw the name, I was like, I know her but how can she know her when she came into the family 2 years ago and I 13 years ago and I am not connected to her.  I quickly closed Facebook and said ‘I will ask my bf and let me go organise my closet.’  I stopped myself at organising.  I had recognised that organising stuff is a way of numbing for me (there was no need to organise my closet).  And then I went back to Facebook and re-read the feed.  And let it sink in.  And then all of a sudden, the physical symptoms kicked in.  Brené Brown was not lying.  There are physical symptoms of shame.  And mine included the feeling like my throat was closing up.  It almost felt like I couldn’t breathe.  And I couldn’t move, I was almost rigid like a statue.  It was painful.  Incredibly painful.

It took a while but I let myself feel.  I didn’t organise anything that day and I didn’t talk to my bf about it.  I eventually told him this story a week later.  I realised that had I repressed my shame and if I had spoken to him that evening it would have led to a mega-fight because I would have somehow attacked and blamed him for the fact that I am not included and accepted in his family.  And I have shame around that.  And that is related to my worthiness checklist of being close to family – his or mine.

I am new to feeling shame and it is so scary.  I thought about this a lot and in fact since I re-read the book it is constantly on my mind.  Through the many thoughts I was having I realized how my repressed shame caught up with me, 6 years later.

My former worthiness list included speaking another language.  And I think that my list is related to how my own mother defined worthiness.  My mother speaks 3 languages – English and the other 2 are Indian dialects.  And growing up I did not learn to speak her native dialect.  When I was small she spoke to me in it and today, I can understand the language but I don’t speak, write or read it.  When I got older, I asked her why I don’t speak the language she said ‘you never wanted to speak it.’  And she continuously reminded me that I don’t speak it.  In fact, when I saw her this summer she insulted me again by saying ‘oh, you don’t speak our language.’

When I moved to Europe, I was quickly reminded that I don’t have the skill of another language – from applying for jobs, from interacting with people who speak 2 or 3 or 5 fluently.  Many, many times I felt shame when I was reminded of this fact or someone called me out on it.  After a few years of living here I acquired this skill and worked in the language.  But my shame didn’t stop there nor did I feel worthy (now, I am working on a third language skill, I raised the bar, go figure).  6 years later, my shame came back to shame someone else.

When I was in a group situation of new people, we had to formally introduce ourselves.  I was the first person.  I stated my name, nationality, job, why I am here and I added languages I speak.  In this group setting, I could have left out job and languages.  Since I started, everyone followed suit and filled in the same info.  When the last person went, he stated at the end, ‘I guess I’m the only one who doesn’t speak another language.’

At the time, I felt bad because I regonized that I had done the same thing to him as many people had treated me after moving here.  But my behaviour was from my shame – that I am bad and not worthy of someone connecting with me because I don’t speak another language.  Today, I feel even worse about it but I am trying to keep it in perspective.

After 6 years, my shame was still there even though I had checked off an item on my worthiness list.  What I had actually done was incredibly eye-opening: I defined it for the rest of the group in a very subtle way.  And imposing my own definition on someone else is narcissistic – valuing another’s worth based on it is judgemental, it is very cruel.

And from this, I realised that even if I thoroughly understood narcissistic behaviours through my interactions with my friends/ex-friends who behaved continuously narcissistic or my own mother I would never understand how I was behaving narcissistically or even when.  The shame would always come back if I couldn’t recognise when it happened to me and process it and work through the shame (shame resilience).

After going through my first shame experience, consciously, I feel queazy but at the same time liberating.  Weird, eh?  It is so unbelievable uncomfortable and messy but I can sort of began to see the freedom on the other side.  I have a long, long way to go but I have a next step in recovery.

Oh and btw: I am currently unemployed, an only child, have been in recovery for 2 years now, am not close to my family nor my bf’s.  Well, according to my def. I’m not worthy.  That’s a lot of shame.  Even after writing down the list above, I found others to add lurking around.  Go figure :).

Thank you for reading and your continued support.  Your thoughts are always welcome.

xx

T

7 thoughts on “Worth (part 2)

  1. Again, this is really good. I hadn’t thought about the role of shame in all of this. I had been focusing more on the Fear-Obligation-Guilt combo pack, but I think it’s really interesting.
    Hadn’t realised about the physical symptoms of feelings, so you’ve given me some work to do 😉
    It’s interesting how a lot of the statements carrying shame are only such because of generalisations. For instance if you said: “I’m not close to bears or sharks”, nobody would bat an eyelid, but if you make the same statement about family there is shame associated with it but only because of the (false but generally accepted) assumption that all families should be close (and happy). So what happens if you’re family doesn’t fit the assumption? You’re almost forced to keep this reality a secret even when the situation is no fault of your own, as much as being unable to be friends with a wild animal is no fault of your own either.

    Like

    • Thank you.

      I hadn’t heard of the FOG until I read it in your blog. I’m looking at it as we speak. Interested to learn more about it. There was a lot of fear in my household growing up.

      Me neither; I didn’t realise there were physical symptoms. It was really weird. So true, there is a lot of shame in society about being close to your family. Yeah, no one would bat an eyelid if we said we’re not close to sharks, so funny. The worthiness list was a struggle for me because I hadn’t really, really allowed myself to admit that I had shame about being an only child and not close to my family. Some of the ways I got there was by looking at what bothered me or what I didn’t always share with people. I thought at first I didn’t share my relationship with my mother b/c she has NPD but it was really the fact I wasn’t close and that society has pressures around it. Like I would be viewed as a bad daughter and that is shame.

      She touches on the ‘secret’ part. She says that shame cannot live and breathe when we talk about it. If we have one person or two people to talk about it with then that is great. There is no need to have a huge support system (which I thought you did). The best part of what she says is you share your story with people who have earned the right to hear it. And for her it is only 1 or 2 people. She shares more of her stories to teach but outside of teaching it is only 1 or 2 people.

      For me, the people that have earned the right to hear it are my bf and this community. I’ve made the mistake of sharing with a few others and realised that I can discuss my shame with my bf and here with you guys with no cruelty. xx
      T

      Like

      • “she says is you share your story with people who have earned the right to hear it.” I like that. Makes a lot of sense. A bit like the old “do not throw your pearls before swine”. It’s tied in to a sense of self-worth.
        xoxo

        Like

  2. Pingback: The Broken Bond: Maternal Narcissism « Bipolar Lessons

  3. Pingback: Worth (part 3) | In Bad Company

Thoughts?

