Partners in Crime

When I looked at my parents I often asked myself: how are they together?

I did find a lot of information on narcissism and their partners (since posting in 2011) but I don’t think there is an easy answer anymore to that.  I felt that in most of the couples I knew where one was highly narcissistic both were narcissistic and that is the reference I make to narcissistic couples – NOT one person with narcissism and the other not (being in a relationship with a N).  Being in a relationship with one and the term narcissistic couple are different terms.

My story in this post is about the couples I know where I have encountered highly narcissistic traits in both of them.  When I looked at how they behaved towards me it was a partners in crime approach.  Where both partners are narcissistic to each other and then separately narcissistic to their respective friends.

I have made a mistake in posting a theory that at the time gave me comfort but was not appropriate – classifying people.

I don’t think I will ever have an answer to why my Dad stuck it out with my Mother.  I wish he hadn’t.  I guess sometimes I feel crazy to think it would have been better if they got a divorce.

I really believe that my Dad and how he loved me (unconditionally) is the only reason why I am able to correct my narcissistic behaviours.

xx T

One thought on “Partners in Crime

  1. Hmmm. This is an interesting theory for me to ponder. My sister used to be married to a narcissist, but I’d say she’s more like a borderline or histrionic personality disordered person. I don’t know her new spouse all that well, but he doesn’t strike me as NPD — more liked slightly whipped. I think my dad fits more of the enabler characteristics than any of the personality disordered ones. My parents began dating very young — she was 14 & he was 16. I don’t think either one ever dated anyone else. So, I’m not sure what that means other than to agree that they are definitely an inseparable team.

    Like

Thoughts?

